#Audiobook Blog Tour: The Demon in Business Class by Anthony Dobranski

Author: Anthony Dobranski

Narrator: Laura Petersen

Length: 18 hours 26 minutes

Publisher: Anthony Dobranski

Released: Aug. 19, 2020

Genre: Supernatural Thriller

She can speak all languages. He can smell evil intent.

They’re enemies. They crave each other.

Secret magic, international settings, a conspiracy plot, star-crossed lovers, and sharp writing The Demon in Business Class is a stunning debut novel spanning continents and genres.

Zarabeth travels the world for a shady executive, laying the groundwork for global war.

Gabriel offers a second chance to the criminals that a visionary leader sees in dreams.

One rainy night in Scotland, they meet…

Now, it’s complicated.

There’s also the investigator, the witch, the playboy, the gangster, the cultist, the pre-school teacher, the two angels…

And, the demon.

Fans of Jeff VanderMeer and David Mitchell will love this stylish cross-genre novel. Gorgeously narrated by Laura Petersen, The Demon in Business Class is an international story of fantasy, intrigue, and love, on the uneasy ground where the human meets the divine.

Your next read is now boarding, listen now!

AudibleScribdiTunesGoogleChirpNook

Anthony Dobranski is from and lives in Washington DC. His debut novel is The Demon in Business Class, a modern fantasy. He also designed and published Business Class Tarot, a modern Tarot deck inspired by his novel. He is finishing up his new science-fiction novel, The White Lake. He’s volunteered with many arts organizations, and now serves on the board of The Inner Loop, a Washington DC live-reading series and podcast. He loves to ski.

WebsiteTwitterFacebookInstagram
Narrator Bio

Born and raised in Chicago, Illinois, Laura Petersen is the youngest from a very large family. She matured like a nice cheap wine in Southern California where her family moved when she was in high school. Honing her acting chops in college in Orange County and in the school of hard knocks in Los Angeles, she eventually settled down with a handsome young man and married. Then promptly moved to North Carolina, and then again headed West to Oregon where she now lives with her husband, and two kids.

She traveled extensively before becoming a suburban mom, traveling all over Europe and North America. She has also worked in almost every manner of job, from fast food service to bartending and from retail clothing to costume department PA, actress, short order cook, barista, auto repair, ballroom

dancer, and independent film producer.

Now, when she is not busy narrating, she uses her BA and MBA to homeschool her kids (thanks pandemic) and enjoys hanging with her quarantine pod for occasional game nights.

Website

Guest Post

Antiheroes, Villains, and Lovers

The concept of the antihero is ancient, but its meaning has changed over time: from the clever servant who secretly guides a hapless employer, to a moody and vengeful hero, to an unheroic person alienated from their society, to an amoral stranger who does good as a side effect of thwarting bad people. 

It’s easier to say what an antiheroes aren’t — they’re not overtly good and strong people who take direct action to make a situation better. And, some so-called antiheroes, such as Tony Soprano or Walter White, are really villains — they’re just villains we know well enough to sympathize with. 

One fun aspect of my novel The Demon in Business Class is how my two main characters, Gabriel and Zarabeth, play with the hero/villain dynamic. Both start the novel as antiheroes. Zarabeth is frustrated by the impending loss of her job, and by the deeper loss of no longer being recognized for her talents. When she gets a chance to have both back, she grabs it, and demonic powers are a nice plus. Gabriel had a chance to do good works, but only open-ended and discouragingly long-term ones, and he gave up. His sudden violence to prevent an assault opens a door to a kind of redemption, a goodness he can only believe in, not understand.  

One gets an arc toward heroism, the other toward villainy. Neither one is easy, but both come with rewards. Then, they get another option entirely: they meet each other, and find a deep connection with new possibilities — which aren’t compatible with the arcs they’ve traveled, and worked very hard to follow. 

Is it selfish to give up a heroic life for love? Is it worthy to give up villainy for love? Is love separate from morality? They’re interesting questions to tackle.  

There’s lots more going on in The Demon in Business Class: a series of strange adventures, across Europe, the US, and Asia, coming together in a grand design, a modern fantasy for our global age. Come enjoy the wild and magical journey of two people trying to stay true to themselves, even while their moral compasses swing wildly. 

Welcome aboard, and Bon Voyage!

Click here to view the full tour schedule!

Plugging you into the audio community since 2016.

Sign up as a tour host here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s